Skip to content

About Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse © Ruth Crafer 5584

Kate Mosse is the author of nine novels & short story collections, including the No 1 multimillion selling Languedoc Trilogy - Labyrinth, Sepulchre and Citadel - and No 1 bestselling Gothic fiction including The Winter Ghosts and The Taxidermist's Daughter, which she is currently adapting for the stage. Her books have been translated into 38 languages and published in more than 40 countries. She has also written three works of non-fiction, four plays, contributed essays and introductions to classic novels and collections.

A champion of women's creativity, Kate is the Founder Director of the Women's Prize for Fiction - the largest annual celebration of women's writing in the world - and sits on the Executive Committee of Women of the World. She was awarded an OBE in 2013 for services to literature and women and was named Woman of the Year for her service to the arts in the Everywoman Awards. She is a regular guest on book & arts shows on radio and television.

Kate hosts the pre & post performance interview series at Chichester Festival Theatre in Sussex, chairs Platform Events for the National Theatre in London, as well as interviewing writers, directors, campaigners and actors at literary and theatre festivals in the UK and beyond. Kate was awarded a Fellowship at the Writer's House in Amsterdam in 2019. She is also Professor of Creative Writing & Contemporary Fiction at the University of Chichester.

Kate is now based full-time in Chichester but goes back to Languedoc as often as she can. She's looking forward to the release of the second novel in 'The Burning Chambers' series, The City of Tears - set in Paris, Amsterdam and Chartres - which will publish in the UK and the US in January 2021.

Kate was honoured to be presented with a medal for services to culture by the City of Carcassonne. It is because of buying a tiny house in the shadow of the medieval city walls of Carcassonne in 1989 - and becoming inspired by the landscape, the beauty and the history of the region - that Kate became the writer she is.


Complete Bibliography


Eskimo Kissing (Hodder & Stoughton, 1996 - not in print)

Crucifix Lane (Hodder & Stoughton, 1998 - not in print)

Labyrinth (Book I Languedoc Trilogy, Orion, 2005)

Sepulchre (Book II Languedoc Trilogy, Orion, 2007)

The Winter Ghosts (Orion, 2009)

Citadel (Book III Languedoc Trilogy, Orion, 2012)

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales (short stories, Orion, 2013)

The Taxidermist’s Daughter (Orion, 2014)

The Burning Chambers (Book I The Burning Chambers Quartet, Mantle, 2018)

The City of Tears (Book 2 The Burning Chambers Quartet, Mantle, 2021)

Non Fiction

Becoming a Mother (Virago, 1993)

The House: Behind the Scenes at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (BBC Books, 1995)

Chichester Festival Theatre at Fifty (Unbound, 2012)


Syrinx (2009; printed version in The Mistletoe Bride, Orion 2013)

Endpapers (Oberon Books, 2011)

The Taxidermist’s Daughter (adaptation, 2020)

The Queen of Jerusalem (2022)

Essays, Short Stories & Other Writings

Little Black Dress (story – edited by Susie Maguire, Polygon, 2006)

The Fishbourne Book (introduction - FBG, 2006)

Modern Delight (essay – Waterstones/Faber and Faber, 2009)

Midsummer Nights (story – edited by Jeanette Winterson, Quercus, 2009)

Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini (introduction – Vintage Classics,2009)

Introduction to The Writers’ & Artists Yearbook 2009 (introduction – A&C Black, 2009)

The Book Lovers’ Appreciation Society (story – edited by Fanny Blake, Orion 2009)

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver (introduction – Serpent’s Tail, 2010)

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (introduction – Whites Book, 2010)

The Best Little Book Club in Town (story – edited by Fanny Blake, Orion, 2011)

Why Willows Weep (story – edited by Tracy Chevalier, 2011)

Write (essay – Guardian Books, 2012)

Goldfinger by Ian Fleming (introduction – Vintage Classics, 2012)

Night Falls on the City by Sarah Gainham (introduction – Little Brown, 2012)


The Coffee Shop Book Club (story – edited by Fanny Blake, Orion, 2013)

Virago at 40 (story – edited by Lennie Goodings, 2013)

Fifty Shades of Feminism (essay – edited by Lisa Appignanesi, Rachel Holmes & Susie Orbach, Virago, 2013)

A Chichester Miscellany by Phil Hewitt (foreword – Summersdale Publishing, 2013)

Chichester Harbour: England’s Coastal Gem by Liz Sagues (foreword – Robert Hale, 2013)

One Hundred Great Plays by Women by Lucy Kerbel (foreword – Nick Hern Books, 2013)

Writing Historical Fiction (essay – edited by Celia Brayfield and Duncan Sprott, Bloomsbury, 2014)

Anthology of World War I Literature for Children (essay – edited by Michael Morpurgo, Jonathan Cape, 2014)

Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain (afterword – Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 2014)

Only Remembered (story – edited by Michael Morpurgo, Jonathan Cape, 2014)

Eleven Days (BBC Worldwide, 2015)

The Little Prince (introduction - Picador Classics, 2015)

I am Heathcliff (introduction & curator - Borough Press, 2018)

The Turn of the Screw & Owen Wingrave (afterword - Picador Classics, 2018)

Peter Abelard by Helen Waddell (introduction - Bello, 2018)